• General information


    TEA implemented STAAR in spring 2012 to fulfill requirements enacted by the Texas Legislature. STAAR helps to ensure that Texas students are competitive with other students both nationally and internationally. One important function of STAAR is to gauge how well schools and teachers are preparing their students academically. The test is specifically designed to measure individual student progress in relation to content that is directly tied to the TEKS. Every STAAR question is directly aligned to the TEKS currently in effect for the grade/subject or course being assessed.

    • STAAR includes assessments at grades 3–8 of mathematics, reading, writing, science, and social studies. All of these assessments are available both on paper and online.
    • STAAR EOC assessments are available for Algebra I, Algebra II, English I, English II, English III, biology, and U.S. history. All of these assessments are available both on paper and online.
    • STAAR Spanish is available for English language learners (ELLs) in grades 3–5 for whom an assessment in Spanish provides the most appropriate measure of academic progress. STAAR Spanish is available in each subject area assessed by the English version assessments, including all retest opportunities. STAAR Spanish is administered only on paper.


    STAAR Alternate 2

    The State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness Alternate 2 (STAAR Alternate 2) fulfills federal requirements of both the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) and the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). ESEA requires that all students be assessed in specific grades and subjects throughout their academic career, whereas IDEA requires that students with disabilities have access to the same standards as their nondisabled peers and be included in statewide assessments.

    STAAR Alternate 2 is a standardized item-based assessment administered individually to each eligible student enrolled in grades 3–8 and end-of-course (EOC) subjects. STAAR Alternate 2 is administered to eligible students with significant cognitive disabilities who are receiving special education services in the following grades and subjects:

    • Grades 3–8 Reading
    • Grades 3–8 Mathematics
    • Grades 4 and 7 Writing
    • Grades 5 and 8 Science
    • Grades 8 Social Studies
    • Algebra I, English I, English II, Biology and U.S. History



    The Texas English Language Proficiency Assessment System (TELPAS) fulfills federal requirements for assessing the English language proficiency of ELLs in kindergarten through grade 12 in four language domains: listening, speaking, reading, and writing. TELPAS reports student performance in terms of four English language proficiency levels: beginning, intermediate, advanced, and advanced high. TELPAS results are used in accountability and performance-based monitoring indicators. The assessment components for grades K–1 and 2–12 include the following:

    Grades K–1

    • Holistically rated observational assessments of listening, speaking, reading, and writing

    Grades 2–12

    • Multiple-choice online reading tests in six grade clusters: 2, 3, 4–5, 6–7, 8–9, and 10–12
    • Online listening and speaking tests in six grade clusters: 2, 3, 4–5, 6–8, and 9–12
    • Holistically rated student writing collections


    Credit by Exam

    The Texas Education Code (TEC), §28.023, allows students in primary grades to accelerate a grade level and students in secondary academic courses to earn credit for a course on the basis credit by examination.

    • EPISD offers Credit by Exams, at all campuses, in four separate testing windows throughout the school year.
    • Interested parties should contact their campus counselor for information and forms.
    • Locate more information under “Parent & Student Information” page on the Assessment website.