P.E. Links

  • Sites for Teachers
    Adapted PE www.pecentral.org/adapted Adapted page with links for persons with disabilities.
    Physical Education Digest www.pedigest.com Library of articles on dozens of sports, coaching,
    PE Central www.pecentral.com An excellent website for health and physical education teachers, parents, and students.
    PE Links 4 U www.pelinks4u.org A weekly online newsletter promoting active,health-enhancing lifestyles and quality, success oriented programs in health, physical education, recreation, dance and sport.
    U.S. Physical Activity www.cdc.gov/nccdphp/dnpa/physical CDC site on benefits of physical activity with resource links for all ages.
    President's Challenge www.fitness.gov Health, physical activity, fitness and sports information website of the President's Council on Physical Fitness and Sports.  Link to President's Challenge with programs for an active lifestyle for all age groups.
    Jump Rope for Heart, Hoops for Heart www.aahperd.org/thepulse An online newsletter which focuses on Jump Rope for Heart and Hoops for Heart projects.
    Physical Best www.aahperd.org/naspe/physicalbest Physical Best is a comprehensive health-related fitness education program developed by physical educators for physical educators.
    Fitness for Life www.fitnessforlife.org Fitness for Life is fully integrated with Physical Best and Fitnessgram/Activitygram.
    The Cooper Institute www.cooperinstitute.org The Cooper Institute is dedicated to advancing the understanding of the relationship between living habits and health.
    Growth Charts/Body Mass Index www.cdc.gov/growthcharts/ The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention offers a complete set of growth charts used to calculate BMI in children.
    Body Mass Index www.mayoclinic.com Calculates body mass index in children between the ages of 2 and 18. Click on Health
    Body and Mind www.bam.gov/sub_physicalactivity A CDC site offering activities and challenges to engage students in an active, healthy lifestyle.
    America on the Move www.americaonthemove.org A national initiative dedicated to helping individuals and communities make positive changes to improve health and quality of life.
    PE4 Life www.pe4life.com Promotes quality daily physical education programs.
    Healthy Youth www.cdc.gov/healthyyouth/physicalactivity Data, statistics, studies and strategies on the positive benefits of physical activity with many downloadable brochures.
    Discovery Channel School www.school.discovery.com/schrockguide/ Click on Health, PE, and fitness for a list of sites to help educators enhance instruction and support the curriculum.
    Just Move www.justmove.org A personal fitness center created by the American Heart Association.
    Kid's Health www.kidshealth.org Reliable health and wellness information with age appropriate content.  A non-profit organization.
    Shape Up America! www.shapeupamerica.org General information on how to get in shape and stay in shape.
    Sports Illustrated for Kids www.sikids.com Sports, news, games, cartoons and fantasy leagues based on the magazine SI for Kids.
    Fitness Jumpsite www.primusweb.com/fitnesspartner Information on eating right, weight management, getting and staying active, and fitness equipment.
    Games Kids Play www.gameskidsplay.net Popular childhood games rules, instructions and history of over 500 childhood games. Some games may not be appropriate for educational purposes.
    Puzzle Maker http://puzzlemaker.school.discovery.com/ Create word puzzles for use in any setting for any theme.
    Sports and Exercise Info http://www.ellipticalreviews.com/sports-and-exercise/ Information and links on a variety of sports.
    Sites for Organizations
    AAHPERD www.aahperd.org American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance
    TAHPERD www.tahperd.org Texas Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance
    NASPE www.aahperd.org/naspe/ The National Association for Sport and Physical Education
    American Obesity Association www.obesity.org Facts, consumer alerts, community action, statistics.
    American Heart Association www.americanheart.org Official website of the American Heart Association
    ASHA www.ashaweb.org Protecting and promoting the health and well being of children and youth through coordinated school health programs.
    ACE www.acefitness.org Non-profit organization setting certification and continuing education standards for fitness professionals.
    NCPPA www.ncppa.org A cooperative volunteer approach for promoting physical activity in your community.
    Women's Sport Foundation www.womenssportfoundation.org Charitable, educational organization dedicated to promoting girls and women in sports and fitness.
    Sites for Resources
    Human Kinetics www.humankinetics.com The information leader in physical activity.  Makers of Fitnessgram, textbooks, journals, and more.
    Skating America www.skatingamerica.com Provides a low cost program to promote physical fitness and health.
    Gopher www.gophersport.com Physical education equipment catalog.
    Griffin Sp Publishing www.griffinpublishing.com Offers a variety of books in the areas of general sport, health, fitness, and the Olympics.
    Sport Supply Group www.sportsupplygroup.com Physical education equipment catalog (US Games, BSN Sports).
    S&S World Wide www.ssww.com Physical education equipment catalog.
    Sportime www.sportime.com Physical education equipment catalog.
    UCS Spirit www.ucsspirit.com Physical education equipment catalog, with emphasis on track and field.
    Christy Lane Enterprises www.centralhome.com/christy-lane.htm A good source for dance videos, music and books, along with PE resources.