Return to Headlines

2 El Paso ISD students named recipients of the 2024 ACET scholarship

(EL PASO INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT – April 19, 2024) — Two students from El Paso ISD were recently named winners of the 2024 Association for Compensatory Educators of Texas (ACET) scholarship. 

Karla Nava from Coronado High School and Gerardo Lopez from Andress High School each received $1,000 scholarships. The ACET is made up of school administrators and teachers who work in programs from throughout the state and help students who may have a more difficult time in school due to language, economic, and other barriers.  

The association offers 20 $1,000 scholarships annually to students who have been enrolled in a compensatory education program during their school career. According to the ACET, compensatory education includes programs such as Title 1, Bilingual/ESL, State Compensatory Education (SCE), Migrant and Homeless.  

Additionally, Lopez and Nava were recognized as the district’s ESC Region 19 Migrant Education Exemplary Students during the ESC Region 19 Commencement on April 20. 

“Region 19 is extremely proud to have Karla and Gerardo receive the ACET scholarship,” said Manuel Aldaco, the Program Manager for Migrant Education. “They are student leaders, and their accomplishments exemplify their core values, their mission, and the persistence that drives them towards the vision they have for themselves. We are grateful to the both of them and their families.” 

Karla Nava Gerardo Lopez