Return to Headlines

EPISD students graduate from Jr. Leadership El Paso program

Junior Leadership El Paso Class 17

(EL PASO INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT -- May 11, 2020) — Nine EPISD high-school juniors completed their yearlong participation in the competitive Junior Leadership El Paso program organized by the El Paso Chamber.

The juniors were part of Jr. Leadership El Paso Class 17 along with about 30 other students from throughout the county. The program each year immerses students in an intense leadership program by giving them access to area newsmakers during once-a-month day-long sessions on topics like policy making, law enforcement, education, arts and culture, healthcare and military.

The goal of the program is to further introduce students to the cultural and business make up of El Paso and encourage them to return to the city after college graduation.

The EPISD students who graduated from the program are:

  • Agustine Valles, Coronado
  • Charles Feuille, Coronado
  • Antowan Dena, Coronado
  • Gilberto Orozco, El Paso High
  • Matthew Schonberg, El Paso High
  • Melody Stout, El Paso High
  • Rene Servin, El Paso High
  • Anthony Borrego, Irvin
  • Emma Sophia Skidmore, Silva Health Magnet

The students normally would have had a graduation ceremony. However, because of the COVID-19 pandemic, the graduation ceremony was cancelled. 

Jr. Leadership El Paso Board Members published an ad in El Paso Inc congratulating each graduate and plan other ways to celebrate their accomplishments.

Story by Gustavo Reveles
Photo by Jr. LEP