Return to Headlines

EPISD seniors earn Terry scholarships to Texas A&M universities

Franklin Terry Scholar  Silva Terry Scholar


(EL PASO INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT -- April 28, 2020) — Two EPISD students earned the prestigious Terry Scholarship this year for full-ride scholarships to Texas A&M University and Texas A&M University Galveston.

The two students are among a total six EPISD Terry Scholars this year. Shakila Edalatpour from Franklin will be attending Texas A&M while Annabel Gonzalez from Silva Health Magnet will be enrolling in Texas A&M in Galveston. 

“I am a first-generation college student and becoming a Terry Scholar means that not only am I going to be able to fuel my future and have the opportunity to make my dreams a reality,” Gonzalez said.

Terry Scholars are selected based on three criteria: academic excellence, leadership potential and financial need. The renewable scholarship works alongside other scholarships and grants to cover the full cost of attendance for up to eight semesters.

“Being a Terry Scholar means that I now get to join this tightknit community and can better navigate my college career ahead,” said Edalatpour. “I can focus on being the best student I can be and excelling in my studies, which will set me up for future success. I am extremely grateful for this opportunity and thank the Foundation for providing this opportunity for students like myself.” 

Edalatpour plans to pursue a degree in electrical engineering and then a master’s degree in business administration. 

Gonzalez has been setting the groundwork for becoming a Terry Scholar since her freshman year.

“I always heard about seniors becoming Terry Scholars. It always seemed like something so far out of reach, held to a standard that I didn’t think I could achieve partially because I hadn’t figured out who I was or wanted to be,” said Gonzalez, who plans to major in marine biology. “As I grew and worked my way through high school my views changed and I was lucky enough to find my passion of wildlife.” 

The other four students receiving Terry Scholarships to attend UTEP are: Ania Fierro and Carlos Carrete from Jefferson; Ana Lucia Garcia from El Paso High; and Yesenia Juarez from Silva. Carrete has since declined his scholarship to pursue his education this fall at Stanford University.

Story by Reneé De Santos