Return to Headlines

EPISD sets community meetings on proposed school closures

The El Paso Independent School District Board on Tuesday released the timeline and list of proposed campus closures.

The Board of Trustees will have two community meetings next week to share information and gather input. 

The closures are proposed over the next three years.

The campuses being considered for the 2018-19 school year are Beall, Schuster, Moye. Proposed closures for the 2019-20 school year are Hawkins, Rivera, Rusk and Alta Vista. Campuses proposed for 2020-21 are Bonham, Johnson and Roberts. 

Schuster, Bonham, Johnson and Roberts already had been identified for closure and consolidation as part of the Bond 2016.

The community meetings will be from 6 to 7:30 p.m. Monday, June 18, and Tuesday, June 19, at the EPISD Professional Development Center, 6500 Boeing, Building K.

Trustees will provide information on the process and proposed plan, as well as hear concerns from community members. The closures are being considered by the Board as a long-term solution to decreased funding related to continued projected declining enrollment. 

The Board of Trustees will formally discuss the proposed closures during the next regular board meeting on June 21.