Return to Headlines

New principals announced for Burges, Morehead/Johnson

(EL PASO INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT -- June 20, 2019) — EPISD on Friday announced the appointment of two experienced educators as principals at Burges High School and Morehead Middle/Johnson Elementary School.

Christopher Smith is the new permanent principal at Burges and Peggy Gustafson is the new interim principal at Morehead/Johnson.

“Mr. Smith and Ms. Gustafson are long-time educators that understand EPISD’s vision of innovation and high-quality education,” Superintendent Juan E. Cabrera said. “I am confident that under their leadership, Burges and Morehead will continue to flourish.”

Smith, whose start date is July 15, comes to Burges after serving as principal at Manor New Tech Middle School in Manor, Texas. He previously served as principal at Terrace Hills Middle School at EPISD. A former staff sergeant with the U.S. Army, Smith taught math in EPISD and served as a track and field head coach during his previous tenure in the District.

He will replace Jason Long, who has served as interim principal at the school since March.

Gustafson will move to Morehead/Johnson, effective immediately, after serving as principal of Fannin Elementary School since 2014.  The two schools are scheduled to consolidate as part of the voter-approved Bond 2016 school modernization program.

Gustafson previously served as principal of the Northwest Early College High School in the Canutillo school district and was an assistant principal at Bowie High School. She has a bachelor’s degree in political science from the University of North Dakota and master’s degrees from the University of Texas at El Paso and New Mexico State University.

Gustafson will replace former Morehead principal Dr. Armando Gallegos who is now the interim principal at Jefferson High School and Silva Health Magnet High School; and Johnson Principal Dr. Karla Montemayor, who will return to the Rio Grande Valley later this month. 

Story by Gustavo Reveles