Return to Headlines

New principals named for rightsized campuses

Millie Williams  Maria Guerra  Jesus Medina  Yeni Ontiveros

 Alonzo Barraza  Jose Gijon  Sharon Aziz  Alma Brockhoff

(EL PASO INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT -- FEb. 6, 2019) — The El Paso Independent School District today announced the appointment of principals for the schools impacted by the Rightsizing for the Future decisions to close three campuses and consolidate a fourth earlier than anticipated. 

The EPISD Board of Trustees in January voted to close Alta Vista Elementary and consolidate its student body with Coldwell Elementary;close Beall Elementary and consolidate its students into Douglass Elementary; close Burleson Elementary and consolidate its students into Zavala Elementary; and proceed with the already-approved consolidation of Schuster Elementary with Dowell Elementary. The closures will happen at the end of the current academic year.

“We believe it is critical to make these changes now so that the overseeing principal can begin building a team connection between the two impacted campuses,” said Superintendent Juan Cabrera. “In the long run, this will offer more stability to students, the staff and the entire communities that are involved with our rightsizing efforts.” 

In an effort to facilitate the transition of students and employees into their campuses, the District made the announcement of new principals for the impacted schools. The assignments, which are effective immediately, are as follow:

  • Zavala Principal Alma Brockhoff is now the principal of Zavala and Burleson. Former Burleson Principal Jesus Medina is the new principal at Moye Elementary School, which had an interim principal.
  • Coldwell Principal Jose Gijon is now the principal of Coldwell and Alta Vista. Former Alta Vista Interim Principal Millie Williams will remain at Alta Vista through the end of the school year to oversee the operational aspects of the school closure.
  • Beall Principal Maria Guerra is now the principal of Beall and Douglass. Former Douglass Principal Alonzo Barraza is now the principal of Crosby Elementary, which had an interim principal.
  • Dowell Principal Yeni Ontiveros is now the principal of Dowell and Schuster. Former Schuster Principal Sharon Aziz is now an administrator in the Elementary Schools Division at Central Office.
Story by Gustavo Reveles