Return to Headlines

EPISD Education Foundation Awards $70,000 in scholarships

Coronado High School received $5,000 in scholarships. Alfredo Sanchez received the Lou Robustelli Memorial Scholarship and Briana Ponce received the Ann Yerby Memorial Scholarship


(EL PASO INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT -- June 4, 2018) — The EPISD Education Foundation visited 13 senior awards assemblies this spring to surprise 67 graduating seniors with a $1,000 scholarship. 

Board members awarded scholarships at all 10 traditional high schools, Silva Health Magnet, Transmountain Early College High School and the College, Career and Technology Academy delivering scholarships in May.

“Every year, we look forward to the senior award assemblies and presenting scholarships to our students,” said Russell Wiggs, foundation president. “We’re happy to be able to play a little part in helping our students get a college education.”

The $70,000 included scholarships from the Foundation’s partner funds – the Irvin Alumni Association, Paso del Norte Foundation, Del Norte Lion’s Club, EPISD Council of PTAs and the Coach Archie Duran Memorial Scholarship. All scholarships were for $1,000 with the exception of the two PTA Scholarships, which were $500 each. 

“When I was awarded the Foundation Scholarship I was overjoyed,” said Michelle Paxon, a Silva Health Magnet graduate. “This scholarship gave me hope to believe that there is a way for me to reach my dream – college. I have always planned to get into medical school, and I now understand that being able to achieve that dream requires a lot of money. With scholarships like the Foundation scholarship, I now know that there is hope towards reaching such a goal and I am thankful to have received this scholarship.”

Scholarships are being made possible through the Foundation’s major sponsors: Engage to Learn, El Paso Electric, the Hospitals of Providence, Wet and Wild Waterworld, Hunt Family Foundation, Peter Piper Pizza, Teachers Federal Credit Union, Hellas, Jacobs, Imagine Learning, K-12 Insight, Gibson Ruddock Patterson and Mounce Green Myers.

Since 1994, the EPISD Education Foundation has awarded more than $2 million in scholarships in scholarship and grants to benefit EPISD students and teachers.

Below are the scholarship winners:

Micahia James Andress High School
Derek Olivas Austin High School
Acasia Humphries Bowie High School
Josue Adame Bowie High School
Ariadna Mora Carrillo Burges High School
Arabella Cadena Burges High School
Catherine Carrillo Burges High School
Alejandro Veliz Burges High School
Isabella Cadena Burges High School
Daniel Adame Burges High School
Itzel Reyes Burges High School
Thelma Munoz Islas Burges High School
Alfredo Sanchez Burges High School
Luis Ruiz Burges High School
Breanna Quinonez Burges High School
Brianna Lucero Chapin High School
Alicia Cabrera Chapin High School
Patrick Stanley Coronado High School
Russell Steans Coronado High School
Victoria Obregon Coronado High School
Julian Ordaz Coronado High School
Estevan Mesa Coronado High School
Luisa Gabaldon El Paso High School
Samantha Ortega El Paso High School
Pedro Delgado El Paso High School
Kyle Goldfarb El Paso High School
Luis Hinojos Franklin High School
Luz Calderon Franklin High School
Katherine Jolley Franklin High School
Marialuisa Teixeira Franklin High School
Elisa Gomez Franklin High School
Mauricio Gonzalez Sanchez Franklin High School
Sofia Williams Franklin High School
Bianca Anchondo Franklin High School
Mariel Ito Franklin High School
Paulina Canales Franklin High School
Jahlil Crowley Franklin High School
Rich Yi Franklin High School
Mofo-Giani Tah Franklin High School
Paola Garcia Hernandez Franklin High School
Damian Arellano Franklin High School
Janet Moncayo Irvin High School
Stefanny Rausch Rodriguez Irvin High School
Christopher Quintero Irvin High School
Naila Gomez Irvin High School
Tristen Ball Irvin High School
Jasmine Mena Irvin High School
Jaime Hernandez Jefferson High School
Cinthia Bretado Jefferson High School
David Aguilar Jefferson High School
Cindiley Martinez Munoz Jefferson High School
Andres De La Rosa Jefferson High School
Carmen Corral Jefferson High School
William Derrick Silva Magnet High School
Michelle Paxon Silva  Magnet High School
Alheli Romero Silva  Magnet High School
Shayan Pourjavaheri Silva  Magnet High School
Itzel Elizalde Silva  Magnet High School
Essynce Lewis Silva Magnet High School
Kyle Helms Transmountain Early College High School
Elena Baugh Transmountain Early College High School
Alejandro Lopez College Career Technology Academy

Other scholarships from our partners are:


Alyssa Lomeli Irvin Alumni Association Scholarship
Hector Perea Irvin Alumni Association Scholarship
Alfredo Sanchez Ann Yerby Memorial Scholarship
Briana Ponce Lou Robustelli Memorial Scholarship
Nancy Garcia Genevieve Gonzalez Scholarship
Daniel De La Cruz Coach Archie Duran Memorial Scholarship
Eli Ortiz Coach Archie Duran Memorial Scholarship