Return to Headlines

21 teachers receive $17,500 in Classroom Impact Grants from EPISD Education Foundation

(EL PASO INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT – Oct. 24, 2022) – The EPISD Education Foundation announced today the award of more than $17,500 in Classroom Impact Grant awards to 21 teachers.

The grants, which provide teachers with opportunities to do innovative projects in their classrooms, range from $166 to $1,000.  Grants are made possible through generous contributions from major donors including El Paso Electric, Las Palmas Del Sol, Cigna, First Financial, Jacobs Engineering, PC Automated Controls and Veritec Solutions.

“Our Board is proud to be able to provide 21 El Paso ISD teachers with grants this year to enhance the work they do in their classrooms,” said Russell Wiggs, foundation president. “We look forward to giving back to EPISD classrooms every year and know that these grants make a difference for teachers and their students.”

This year’s winners are:

Teacher Name


Sabrina N Ortega

Navarrete Middle

Yvette Soto

Brown Middle

Frania Paugh

Burges Early College

Sarah Curtis

Burges High

Rebecca Manriquez


Denise Ortega

Bobby Joe Hill PK-8

Lisa Ann Schoenbrun

Franklin High

Dawn Menchaca

Franklin High

Susan Barron

Guerrero Elementary

Sandie Lenhart

Herrera Elementary

Julie Gonzalez

Herrera Elementary

Patricia J Ramirez

Irvin High

Tania Esquivel

Lundy Elementary

Denisse Almaraz Valencia

Lundy Elementary

Patricia Castano

Mesita ECDC

Andy Tolentino

Moreno Elementary

Juli Porflit

Park Elementary

Jaime Reyes Jr.

Rusk Elementary

Jarett Bolton

Bobby Joe Hill PK-8

Marlana Hohnholt


David Hohnholt